Friday, May 6, 2011

Baseball Can Be Confusing

Found my team in the middle of the most confusing situation I've been apart of in over 20+ years of baseball.
The college we played gave the wrong lineup to us and the umpires. I was always told to wait until there is a big hit, then you can protest to the umpires for batting out of order.

But it doesn't work that way.

Once a pitch is thrown, the announced order is the official order, regardless of what the lineup presented to the umpire says. The result of the debacle was some guys were switched around in the order and - this actually happened - a runner scored from third base and immediately it was his at-bat.

I always thought if you batted out of order, you were out, but apparently it is more complicated than that.

We apparently protested at the wrong time. We brought it to the attention if the umpires after the batter, who was listed fourth on both the lineup presented to us and the umpires and the lineup presented to the official scorer. Because he was a "legal" batter, there really wasn't any consequence at that moment.

If we would have brought it to the attention of the umpires after an "illegal" batter - one batting in the wrong spot - reached base, that batter would be out and the runners would have to go back.

Hope I didn't confuse you more.

Visit our complete online resource for instructional baseball videos and our free eBook at

1 comment: